Holidays

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881) read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(l) dated 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year, 2020:-

Birthday of Netaji23rd January, Thursday
Saraswati Puja (Shree Panchami)30th January, Thursday
Doljatra9th March, Monday
Good Friday10th April, Friday
Bengali New Year’s Day / Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar14th April, Tuesday
May Day1st May, Friday
Buddha Purnima7th May, Thursday
Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore8th May, Friday
Id-Ul-Fitar25th May, Monday
** Id-Ud-Zoha (Bakrid)1st August, Saturday
** Independence Day15th August, Saturday
Mahalaya17th September, Thursday
Birthday of Gandhiji2nd October, Friday
Durga Puja –
Saptami23rd October, Friday
** Astami24th October, Saturday
Vijaya Dasami26th October, Monday
Lakshmi Puja30th October, Friday
** Kali Puja14th November, Saturday
Birthday of Guru Nanak30th November, Monday
Christmas Day25th December, Friday

Note:-

1. Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act (N. I. Act).

2. In the year, 2020, the following festivals/ occasions fall on Sunday which are public holidays under the N. I. Act and hence, have not been included in the list of holidays:

Birthday of Swami Vivekananda12th January, Sunday
Republic Day26th January, Sunday
Muharram30th August, Sunday
Durga Puja – Nabami25th October, Sunday